The beginning…

Writing is not my forte, but neither is cooking or photography. But I do love cooking… and photography. I decided yesterday when I couldn’t get a picture of my beautiful green zucchini being mixed in the dough for zucchini bread that I needed to take a food/cooking photography class. I can roast a chicken (very proud of that one) but I can barely take a decent picture of the beautiful meal!

So here is the start to my adventures in getting better at the whole cooking and picture taking and feeding the husband while I’m at it thing.

I have two weeks of freedom (relative freedom) before I start school again. At that time I will start a 20 hour a week internship and my second to last semester of my Master’s program. My hope is that I will still have time to cook, photograph and do what I want.

Just as a little background, I got married a little over three weeks ago. It was a wonderful absurd fantastic amazing fiasco. More work and preparation and planning than anything I have ever done before in my life. And more fun, family and friends together in one place laughing and  (I hope) having an absolute blast than I could even imagine. Now that its over though… I am finding that I have time for things I had lost time for prior to the wedding. Such as cooking, watching tv, playing games, seeing friends, and (ooh its so gooood) sleeping.

On a similar note, I was speaking with a friend yesterday and at the end of our conversation my only advice to him about all his seeming troubles was to do what he wanted. He wanted to travel to a place but it might take too much time, I said “do it” do what you want! He was worried about not doing something because it might be inconvenient for someone else. I said do what you want! Not to injure anyone else, or be selfish, but to be happy, and to be able to say, I am doing what I want!

It inspired me to do what I want. And what I want right now is to listen to This American Life, make Heirloom tomato pizza and Goat cheese and zucchini pizza and drink a little white wine. And tomorrow… well we’ll just have to wait for tomorrow.

Recipes for the above picture include: Roasted Chicken, Sweet Potato Wedges and Roasted Asparagus

Leave a comment