Photography (recipe: Bloody Mary)

One of my goals for this year is to take a photography class. I find myself every once in a while taking those pictures I see in arty food blogs of butter and eggshells and cute little signs. Evidence below. But being unsure even as I am taking them as to whether it is my eye that sees something photo worthy or if it the memory of someone else’s pretty images that are coming to mind. I’d like to think I have the eye, but that is almost beyond the point, first I think I need to focus on light and aperture and such, then when I see something lovely I will actually be able to capture it.

My other goal is to figure out how to feed two full time working individuals (that is if I get a job)… breakfast lunch and dinner without going insane. Lunch is the hardest part for me. I’ll let you know what I come up with. In the meantime I make my hardworking husband sandwiches in the morning and I scrounge in the fridge when I get tired of staring at my cover letters and teaching philosophy statements (which are a first for me!).

Bloody Mary (with snacks!)
Tools:
Shaker
Juicer (or a strong grip)

Ingredients:
Good quality vodka
Tomato juice
Worchestershire sauce
Cayenne pepper or hot sauce
Fresh lime
Fresh lemon
Freshly ground pepper and salt
Celery stalk
Pickled veggies, shrimp, olives, peppers (note at end)
Ice

Action:
Fill shaker with ice
Crack pepper, approx. 4-6 turns
Add splash of Worchestershire
Sprinkle a little cayenne pepper (or hot sauce) into shaker
Squeeze up to half a fresh lime and a half a fresh lemon
Add 1 1/2 parts vodka
Add 2 parts tomato juice
Shake well
Pour with ice into glass, top with a little salt and pepper

Garnish with anything you like really… I used olives and pepperoncinis because that is what I had on hand but feel free to put mini gherkins, shrimp, olives of multiple varieties and so on. Pretty much anything pickled works! It makes the drink look nice and you get snacks!

Add a stalk of celery and serve.

Leave a comment